It’s Not About Saving Yourself

You know, I think eventually you hit a point where you realize, even if you COULD save yourself, you wouldn’t want to.
 
I don’t want people to look at me and say “He was strong and wise and got through it!” I don’t want people to say “He was resourceful and lucky and figured it out!” because I’m not strong, and I’m not wise, I’m not even all that lucky!
 
So praise the Lord when you’re in over your head. Praise the Lord when you can’t figure out how to move forward. Praise the Lord when you don’t know the next step. Because when this is over, and it all works out, I don’t want people to say “he fought on and won.” because that’s now how this works!
 
No matter what I do I won’t be able to save myself. No matter what I try, I won’t be able to make things work. It will be by God and God alone, because He is the only one who can make things work. He is the only one who give hope in the hopeless times, He is the only reason I am able to fight on. He is the only reason I can move forward.
 
Too often we take too much upon ourselves. Too often we tell ourselves “God can only support us as we save ourselves. You serve the God who created everything! Wake up! He holds you in His hand, and He wants to show you what He can do.
 
And so may God work a miracle. Not so that I can find peace. Not so that I can move forward. Not so I can have an easy life. But so those watching can realize it never has been me moving forward. It never has been my own strength persevering. So people can realize it’s been the constant prayer, reading the Bible, and trusting in God that has gotten me this far. And how He won’t abandon those who chase after Him!
1 thought on “It’s Not About Saving Yourself”

Leave a Reply

